Vial Awards 2012

The 2012 Don and Rosemary Vial Awards for Digital Inclusion were held on Thursday, March 15, 2012 at the Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens in Los Angeles. We thank all who participated to make the event a success, especially Don and Rosemary Vial, our Nominees, and our esteemed Panel of Judges. The Nominees and Winning Recipients are detailed below.

Recipient, Outstanding Performance by an Organization Award

The ACME Network
Represented by Ms. Deborah Brooks, Executive Director

Recipients, Exemplary Performance by an Individual Award

Ms. Deborah Brooks, Executive Director, The ACME Network

Ms. Pamela J. Stiles, School2Home Coordinator, Technology Coach, Robert Louis Stevenson Middle School

Organizational Nominees

1 2-1-1 California
2 The ACME Network
3 Chicana / Latina Foundation
4 Chrysalis
5 Dewey Square Group
6 Goodwill Industries of San Francisco, San Mateo and Marin Counties
7 Latino Community Foundation
8 Little Tokyo Service Center
9 Oakland Technology Exchange West
10 Redwood Coast Connect
11 Robert Louis Stevenson Middle School
12 San Diego Futures Foundation
13 Social Interest Solutions
14 Southeast Community Development Corporation
15 The Stride Center
16 World Institute on Disability
17 Youth Radio

Individual Nominees

1   Ms. Gina Belmonte, Chicana / Latina Foundation
2   Ms. Deborah Brooks, The ACME Network
3   Mr. Bruce Buckelew, Oakland Technology Exchange West
4   Ms. Gretell Castro, Families in Schools
5   Mr. Mario Garcia, Chicana / Latina Foundation
6   Mr. Michael Graff-Weisner, Chrysalis
7   Mr. Peter Manzo, United Ways of California
8   Mr. Louis Nava, San Diego Futures Foundation
9   Ms. Alicia Orozco, Chicana / Latina Foundation
10 Mr. Luis Pérez, Building Blocks for Kids
11 Ms. Pamela J. Stiles, School2Home, Stevenson Middle School

2012 Panel of Judges

Mr. Patrick F. Mason, Ph.D.
California Foundation for the Environment and the Economy

Professor María Alicia López Freeman
Executive Director, Emerita
California Science Project

Mr. Paul Hernández
San Diego Civic Leader, CETF Expert Advisor

Mr. Chet P. Hewitt
President and CEO
Sierra Health Foundation

Dr. Ali Modarres
Chair and Professor of Urban Geography-Department of Geosciences and Environment
California State University, Los Angeles